Sunday Symposium II: Waste Management

LWVAAC continues its Sunday Symposium series on January 21, 2024 with a virtual discussion of current waste management policy and action in Anne Arundel County.  

Our topic is timely. Maryland law requires counties to have a solid waste management plan and to update that plan every 10 years, with strict oversight by the Maryland Department of the Environment. Anne Arundel County recently adopted a new solid waste management plan for the years 2024-2033. At our January 21 meeting, Rich Bowen, Anne Arundel County Recycling and Waste Reduction Division Manager, will review provisions of the new plan and answer our questions. Following his remarks, we'll invite members to share their observations and concerns and propose actions LWVAAC could take. We'll conclude by evaluating whether the League has a public policy position that supports our members' goals for the future.

Waste management and environmental protection are closely related. If you'd like to learn more, please plan to participate. Our League relies on your input. RSVP below.

As explained on p. 5 of our December 2023 newsletter, each session in LWVAAC's Sunday Symposium series will focus on one of LWVAAC's public policy positions. The meetings are open to all LWVAAC members. They will be held every other week beginning January 7 via Zoom. The proposed meeting schedule appears below. The order of symposium topics, dates and times may change depending on speaker availability. Please watch your email and League in Action for more information.



(click link below)


January 7, 2024, 2 p.m.

Planning & Zoning

Matt Minahan, Growth Action Network Chair

January 21, 2024, 2 p.m.

Waste Management

Rich Bowen, AA County Recycling and Waste Reduction Division Manager

February 4, 2024





Samuel Snead, AA County Office of Transportation Director

March 3, 2024

Affordable Housing



January 21, 2024 at 2:00pm - 3pm
Niecy Chambers · · 443-672-8270
Susan Cochran Marg Harbachewski Kathy Larrabee Susan Knisely Yolande Dickerson Vera Herath Christiana Logansmith Larissa Pasco Vicki Jordan Alfa Stevens Niecy Chambers Amanda SubbaRao Margaret Anzalone Delia Scott Abby Root

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

Showing 16 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Join or Renew Donate Your Elected Officials